Office of the Speaker | Members' Information | Who's Who
   Home          Gallery
"Manipur Legislative Assembly-- Representing the voice of the people for over three decades..."

   Office of the Speaker

   Office of the Deputy Speaker


   Members' Information

The first Manipur State Assembly was elected on adult franchise in July 1948 – the first of its kind in India. “The representative returnable from General, Hill and Mohammedan constituencies were in the ratios of 30:18:3 respectively with an additional two seats for the representatives of Educational and Commercial interests”. The whole valley of Manipur was divided into 29 constituencies. Three of them were plural constituencies. That is each voter had two votes, one for the Mohammedans and the other for the non-Mohammedans. “The special constituencies from which one Muslim and one Hindu were returned were Lilong, Mayang Imphal and Yairipok”. The Jiribam (Rajbari) (Hill area) was allotted a general seat. The whole hill area of Manipur was divided into 18 single member constituencies....


   Governor's Address

   Council of Ministers

   Member of Parliament

        Hill Area Committee(HAC)        General Information
   Chairman HAC
   Vice-Chairman HAC
  Secretariat Organisation
   Rules of Procedure
   Handbook for Members
   Directions Issued by Speaker
       House at Work   Read more...        Others
   Budget Speeches
    Bills Passed
    Resolutions Adopted
    9th Assembly Session
    Previous Sessions
           Who's Who Latest Announcement & information Important Links
  Parliament of India
   India Portal
   State's Official website
   National Informatics Centre
R T I Write to us: Download
  Website last updated on: 16th January 2010  
Disclaimer: Website designed, developed & hosted by NIC. Contents provided by Manipur Legislative Assembly.