Home | Office of the Speaker | Members' Info | Who's Who
   Home          Gallery
"Manipur Legislative Assembly-- Representing the voice of the people for over three decades..."



Shri Rishang Keishing (Indian National Congress -Manipur)

Biographical sketch :
Fatherís Name : Late Shri Rungdi Keishing
Motherís Name : Late Shrimati Mungshingla Keishing 
Date of Birth : 25 October 1920
Place of Birth : Bungpa Khunou, Distt. Ukhrul (Manipur)
Marital Status :  Married on 15 April 1950
Spouseís Name :  Shrimati Khatingla Keishing 
No. of Children : Four sons and two daughters
Educational Qualification B.A. Educated at St. Paul's Cathedral College, Kolkata 
Profession : Political and Social Worker
Permanent Address Mantri Pukhri, Imphal, Manipur. Tel. - {0385} 2221078, Fax 2320050
Present Address :

12, Talkotra Road, New Delhi. 110001
Tel. - 23327252, 23320162, Mobile 9868181075
E-mail : krishang@sansad.nic.in

Position held :

1952-57 Member, First Lok Sabha
1957-61 and 1967-71 Member, Manipur Territorial Council
1962-67 Member, Third Lok Sabha
1972-2001Member, Manipur Legislative Assembly
1974-76 Cabinet Minister, Government of Manipur
1976-80 Opposition Leader, Manipur Legislative Assembly
1980- 85 Chief Minister, Manipur
1985-Feb.1988 Chief Minister, Manipur
1994- March 1995 Chief Minister, Manipur
1995- Dec. 1998 Chief Minister, Manipur
April 2002 Elected to Rajya Sabha
April 2002 - Feb. 2004 Member, Committee on Food, Civil Supplies and Public Distribution Jan. 2003-Feb. 2004 Member, Committee on Commerce
Dec. 2003 onwards Member, Court of the North-Eastern Hill University
Aug. 2004 onwards Member, Committee on Home Affairs
Oct. 2004 onwards Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Shipping, Road        Transport and Highways
May 2006 - April 2007 Member, Committee on Public Undertakings
April 2008 Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (2nd Term)

Freedom Fighter :  Yes
Book Published  
  Social and Cultural Activities, Literary, Artistic and Scientific Accomplishments and other Special Interests : 
  Served as Chairman, (i) Tangkhul Literature Society, 1949-51 and (ii) Manipur Film Corporation, 1985-87
Sports, Clubs, Favourite Pastimes and Recreation :

During student days, actively participated in football and athletic events like javelin throw, shotput, high jump, long jump and race; was champion in the college for four consecutive years; represented Calcutta University in Inter Varsity Meet in 1948 and won first prize in javelin throw and second prize in high jump 

Countries Visited : U.S.A., U.K., Japan, Hong Kong, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Fiji and Myanmar
Other Information :

Participated in the Freedom Struggle; attended meetings, etc. as a student during the period of 1945-47; Member, (i) Socialist Party of India, 1947-64, (ii) Indian delegation to Asian Socialist Conference held in Rangoon (Myanmar), January 1953, (iii) Indian National Congress since 1964, (iv) Indian delegation led by late Shri Y.B.Chavan to the 35th General Session of the U.N. held in U.S.A. in 1975, (v) Indian delegation to attend the 51st Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference held at Sheraton, Fiji, 2005 and (vi) Tenth Finance Commission; Founder Head Master of the first High School in the district at Ukhrul, 1949-52; Founding Member and Honorary Head Master, Phungyar High School, 1959-61; Founding Member, (i) High School, Kamjong, 1969 and (ii) High School at Kasom Khullen, 1970; was Chairman, (i) Eastern Border Development Authority and (ii) Barak Development Board, 1995-97; helped to set up, (i) Foundation for Management of Tribal Areas (MATA) in 1998, (ii) Fresh Ginger Oil Processing Pilot Project with technology developed by the R.R.L., Trivandrum in 1998 and (iii) Fruit Processing Unit with technology developed by the C.F.T.R.I., Mysore (presently being set up)




Name  Party  Term
Shri Rishang Keishing INC 10-04-2002 to 09-04-2008
Shri W. Angou Singh   INC 10-04-1996 to 09-04-2002
Shri W. Kulabidhu Singh  JD 13-06-1990 to 09-04-1996
Shri B.D. Behring .JD .10-04-1990 to 10-04-1990
Shri R.K. Dorendra Singh INC  20-09-1988 to 09-04-1990
Shri R.K. Jaichandra Singh INC  10-04-1984 to 09-04-1990
Shri Ng. Tompok Singh JAN  10-04-1978 to 09-04-1984
Shri Irengbam Tompok Singh INC  18-06-1974to 09-04-1978
Shri Salam Tombi Singh - 10-04-1972 to 04-04-1974
Shri Sinam Krishnamohon Singh  INC  03-04-1966 to 02-04-1972
Shri Sinam Krishnamohon Singh  INC  13-01-1965 to 02-04-1966
Shri Laimayum Lalit Madhob Sharma  INC  03-04-1960 to 02-11-1964
Shri Laimayum Lalit Madhob Sharma INC  01.12.1956 to 02.04.1960
Shri Ng. Tompok Singh  INC  03-04-1954 to 02-04-1956
Source: Parliament of India.

   Website last updated on:  27th Dec 2005

This Website is designed, developed and hosted by NIC. Contents provided and maintained by Manipur Legislative Assembly.